Home Archives Profile Book Notes Mail Cast Misc Rings Host



2006-06-14


When you come to work in the morning and the first thing you notice is that one of your two PCs (yes, I have two) isn't working, you just know it's gonna be a loooong, dreadful day. Well, so far, it's mostly boring and slightly annoying, rather than really horrible. Nevertheless, I wish I had stayed at home. Within half an hour of being at the office, I had panicked because of the non-working PC, had witnessed the IT guy crawling around under my desk and watched him carry it out of the office. He returned it an hour later and it seems fine now. But it's been acting weird since Thursday and spending the first hour of every other day working without the much-needed software on it doesn't seem appealing to me.
We've also had a huge meeting an hour ago. Man, so much drama. The boss of the German division is leaving. And by the sound of it, there'll be more people following. I think my job is fairly safe, seeing as my department was the one of the few ones which got a positive feedback. I am not that bothered anyway. Somehow, the whole getting fired and job-hunting and everything have put me at ease with my career plans and worries. Could be better, could be worse...

Other than that, I am bored. And hungry. But mostly bored. It's only half past one. Four and a half hours to go. Meh. I want food. Light food, though. It's too hot for anything heavy or meaty or greasy. In fact, outside of this office, it might even be too hot to exist. I hate how sudden summer's arrived. It was all rainy and cold one day, then I didn't go out for a day and when I finally did again...wham! 32�C. How very inconvenient.
I also want sleep. Went to the second Red Hot Chili Peppers (why do these people always need such looong band names? :p) gig with Maja two nights ago and I still haven't recovered from the insanity of the past week. Regarding the RHCP gigs I must admit, I was prepared for worse, seeing as I'm probably the only person in the world who doesn't really seem to at least totally dig one song. But yeah...it seems I'm slowly getting used to it. I'm paying for it now, though. I'm so tired. I didn't even sleep much last night. Although that cannot be blamed on the gigs alone.

The other gigs (Placebo and All-American Rejects) were somewhat disappointing. I'm not too fussed about AAR, though, seeing as I've always found them quite fun to listen to but could exist without them. I get the feeling that you need to be very young (meaning 15 / 16) and / or really drunk to seriously enjoy small emo-pop-punk-rock-whatever club gigs. Or maybe I'm just very picky when it comes to locations. And a/c. And security. You know, just petty little things that help to make sure you're still alive after the show. I know it's silly, the whole will to survive thing and all but what can you do?!
Problem is...the Placebo gig was the complete opposite. Big venue, seats (yes, we were sitting down...I'll get to that eventually), decent a/c (I was actually cold at one point!), "older" people...and it bored me. Yes, even the show bored me a little. I think I've sort of grown out of the whole alternative thing. Plus, Placebo have become a little boring, if you're completely honest. Their live shows have, at least. Sound-wise, they're getting better and better and Brian's voice, which used to be weak and a little squeal-ish, now is absolutely amazing. But there's no real atmosphere anymore. Nothing too exciting, no big "Whoa". Even the surprises were boring. Sorry, but a slow version of 36 Degrees is not mind-blowing when about 70% of the set is slow and dreamy. Only about 4 or 5 actual guitar rock songs is kind of sad for a band that used to be all about that for me. So that is quite depressing. I still love Meds, though. I just don't necessarily want to see it performed live. Most of the songs, at least.
The Coheed & Cambria gig last night was cancelled. Thank God! I wouldn't have been able to go anyway and had already decided to pass.

I also got my tattoo done on 6-6-06. I love it. It's a little sad I can't stare at it 24/7. But that would be awkward anyway. I might picture-whore it here later but right now, I can't as I'm at work.
Boy, did it ever hurt! I forgot how painful it was. Somehow, it's a good kind of pain, though. Although that doesn't even make sense to me because it still made me want to beg the guy to stop. I think it's not the pain I like but the excitement that comes with it.

That's it. I'm sick and I've got a headache. I wanna go home. And can my boss please make up his mind about when I can go home today? First, he tells me I can leave an hour early, now I can't...blah!


Blondie - Maria



Previous - Next