Home Archives Profile Book Notes Mail Cast Misc Rings Host



there's nothing left that we don't understand

2005-12-20


Oh.My.God.
Has it really been more than two weeks without an update? I can't believe it. That must have been my longest period of absence in all my time at Diaryland except for my vacation in Malta in 2003. I feel bad for it. The strange thing is that there wasn't a single day in those two weeks that I didn't think of writing an entry. I even planned, had it all written out in my head. And yet, I never quite managed, got carried away. And that's exactly what it's like with everything else in my life at the moment. Important things and just things that could become important. Writing applications, calling friends...actually not even things that would take forever. Hell, I even made a list of people I need to call now. It's so ridiculous.

Well, so much has happened in that time and yet, nothing really seems important enough for me to write it down now. But I will anyway for the simple attempt at keeping this diary half-way informative...

So I went to Mark Owen's gig in Cologne on the 9th. It was absolutely amazing once again. It just keeps freaking me out how I used to love him so much as a kid and how he still manages to amaze me the same but in a different way. It's like...he's grown with me. It's like your favourite clothing when you were a teenager, which you absolutely loved and wore almost every single day, had grown with you and still makes you look as fabulous as ever.
He played at that really tiny place called Prime Club. I had heard of it before but had never been there for a gig. Usually concerts get relocated because the club is so small. It made me a little sad that the venue was smaller than the one at the first gig but that only lasted for a second because I instantly fell in love with the place. It's got this intimate atmosphere. There are little bar tables at the back and we were standing at one but we could still see everything very clearly and felt like we were sitting in Mark's lap all the time.
I was also so very very lucky. The club is basically right at a very busy street and close to one of Cologne's many shopping streets so parking was an issue. In fact, there's so little space around it that the tour bus was parked on the strip right before the club. But when we got there, 5 minutes before the doors opening, I found a lot right in front of the door. And also right in front of the bus. Basically, I could have threadened to not move the car and let the bus get out unless Mark proposed to me but yet again, I missed my chance. Maaaaan!
The show itself was pretty much the same as the first BUT he played both of my favourite songs (I Am What I Am and Wasting Away for those who need to know). He also played his fantastic cover of Love Will Tear Us Apart which I really want as MP3 now. And towards the end he played Could It Be Magic which totally drove everyone wild. I guess it was just some joke because of the TT tour next year but it still sounded great and made me feel all mushy.
Once again, I was unlucky with the support act, though. It was some chick called...BabyLou or something like that from Denmark. She played an "exclusive acoustic set" which was completely retarded since no one at the venue knew what her normal set sounded like anyway. My guess was that all her musicians except for the guitarist had escaped from her horrid voice, so she could only do it acoustic. She played for almost an hour and there wasn't a single second when I didn't want to bloody kill her. She played the kind of stuff that you wouldn't mind as background music on Dawson's Creek but would never want to listen to without the distraction of the series' storyline. I freaked out several times and so did most of the people around us. When she finally announced that the following would be her last song we all errupted in applause. Heh.

So, that was pretty cool. The downside of it was that I came down with a cold/flu afterwards. Ill. Me. Gah. Seriously, I haven't had more than a little cough in at least five years. And God knows, I tried during my apprenticeship. The only thing I didn't try was probably jumping into puddles - buttnaked! (though I briefly considered it) And during the past few years I went to at least 10 shows and ran around in nothing but a sweaty T-shirt afterwards, out in the blistering cold. And nothing happened. That night, I was wearing a jacket, I wasn't sweaty and I basically fell out of the club and into my car and I got ill! Man! And how annoying it is. I am still suffering now. Though I used about any drug anyone suggested to me. My nose is still running, my throat is still sore and ever since after the gig, I have a strange numb feeling in my ears. And it was really unfortunate because the worst part happened on Sunday and Monday last week. I had an appointment at the Job Agency that day. It sucked. I arrived there just in time after looking for a parking lot for 15 minutes and then parking in the car park of a supermarket miles away and stumbling over to the building which nearly led to my early death. Running + cold = suffocation! And why did I have to show up there at the ungodly hour of 8:30 AM? So the chick could hand me some papers. Great. I mean, there's something called letters and mail in my world but I totally understand that all that modern shit isn't for them. :) Well, I have to fill out those papers. Basically, it's a list that needs to be filled with details of companies I apply with in the next month. And because they're so kind, they're also telling me exactly HOW I am supposed to apply. Ten written applications, ten by phone and five by e-mail. How lovely. I totally wouldn't be able to decide on my own how to do it. And guess what? She was also sweet enough to give me another appointment for 10th January so I could hand her the list since we really can't trust the postman, can we? As you can see, I am now simply making light of the situation as there's really no other way. They're retarded and they know it but they also know that they're way more powerful than me so yeah...it's clear who's taking which role here. I'm just really pissed off by the whole "by phone"-thing as there simply aren't that many chances to do anything by phone. Those who mention it in their ad are usually small cornershops that either look for a Turkish employee or just for some part time student person. Also, lots of my application are still out there somewhere and I won't suddenly get them all back before Christmas, so I have to buy yet more folders. Which are damn expensive!

Talking of expensive...Saturday morning, Maja and I got lucky. We got tickets to see Robbie Williams!!!!!!!! An additional tour date in Munich had been announced earlier and the tickets were supposed to go on sale on Saturday morning. Official news was that you could order them by phone in the morning, starting from around 9. I checked eventim anyway just because I was curious and found out that tickets were on sale there already. Probably starting from Midnight. So yeah, after a long back and forth (Dresden or Munich?) I ordered two tickets. My guess is that the seats must be pretty decent as probably most people were relying on that phone number and it was only around 3:00 AM and there were no technical probelms when I ordered which at least meant that there weren't hundreds of people doing the same. Anyway, I'm happy. I really don't thing I can just afford this but I don't care. It's Christmas soon which means money coming in from my Grandpa and my aunt/uncle, so it's fine. This is also a perfect opportunity to see Maja again. And while I hope that we'll be able to meet before that, it's at least one sure date so far.

Ooookay, I think this is a pretty decent entry for such a long time of absence, right? I am mainly saying this because I must stop here and go play some more World of Warcraft which I've been really really addicted to again these past few days. Mostly thanks to ottaku from the German AFI Community who got the game recently and got me all hooked again. Tisk.

Adieu.


Slut - Wasted



Previous - Next