Home Archives Profile Book Notes Mail Cast Misc Rings Host



Let me state the obvious again

2006-01-07


Greetings, folks! Welcome to this entry written in the ungodly hours of a Saturday morning. I've been awake since 1:30 AM and I am wide awake and cheery. And I'm munching Special K out of my giant Snoopy Bowl and drinking tea from my pink Hello Kitty cup. I had an actual "conversation" with my cat while I was preparing breakfast. It went like...
Me: So...which tea sounds like good breakfast tea?
Kitty: Meow.
Me: Yeah, you're right. Raspberry yoghurt sounds good.
Kitty: Meow.
Me: What do you mean, there's no milk left?
Checks fridge
You liar! There's still loads left!
Kitty: Meow.
Me: Now, don't be cheeky!
Yup. That must have been the longest conversation we've ever had. And it must have been one of the craziest points in my life so far...

I'm excited because of so many things. So let's start with the big thing:
I cancelled the job interview on Friday because I had another one on Wednesday which went really well. It was also with a temp agency and also for a call center job, so at first, I wasn't too excited about it all. But I got along really well with the guy I had the interview with and he also called as soon as I was home to ask me if I had time for an interview at the actual company the next day. I was still kind of sceptical about it, especially because it clashed with my hairdresser appointment and because the guy insisted on me coming to his office and him driving me to the place (although that was completely pointless because the company's litterally 15 minutes from my place or something.) But I went there anyway and after a near death-experience because of his insane driving skills, we also arrived at the place. There was another dude with us who also had an interview there because the company wanted a choice. When we arrived there, I was amazed because the building is awesome and it's in a really quiet and pretty area. Also, the people there are so sweet and nice. I wanted to hug them all.
The other guy went in first and from what I got, wasn't taken. No surprises there. I don't mean to be a bitch but he was kind of...hard to talk to. And it must mean something when I say this. He was just...he never said anything unless he was asked. And when he did talk, you didn't understand a single syllable because he was mumbling so bad. I had to ask him to repeat it several times. Also, it seemed like he had to think about the most simple things. When he came out of the interview room, I asked him how it was. Not because I wanted to know the details to prepare myself but just to be polite. And he was like *pause* "Uhm..." *pause* "It was..." *pause* "...good" *pause* "I guess" *pause* "I..." *pause* "...don't know..." I wanted to ask what he had worked as before but didn't dare. Who knows, I could still be sitting there waiting for an answer now.
Anyway, my interview went great. First, I thought I had fucked it up because the first part was basically them (a man and a woman) telling me about the company. And I always feel so stupid when I'm trying to seem all interested. It isn't that I am not interested. I could be working there soon, so of course, I want to know what all of it is. But I just never seem like I'm listening. Back at school, teachers would often accuse me of daydreaming or something but I was always listening (well, mostly) and could repeat what they were saying. But I don't want to seem that absent in interviews. So I put on fake smiles, make really silly "Ahaaaa..."-noises and nod exaggeratedly. It annoys me but the others didn't seem to notice. The temp agency dude even told me that he had been impressed afterwards. Right after the interview, they told me they'd like me to do a trial day. And well, that's what I'm gonna do next Friday. According to Mr. Temp Agency (let's call him that, shall we?) this means they're 99% sure. I don't want to get too excited because experience tells me that I could fall really really low now. But still, it seems like I'm not gonna be unemployed by this time next month. But I still cancelled the interview in Cologne on Friday. Mostly because I only want to accept interviews for jobs that I would cancel this one for now. And the one in Cologne just wasn't one of them. The job I am probably getting is at a call center again. But this time it's almost strictly inbound and completely without selling and the pressure I had at my old job. They're leasing and selling those little machines that scan your credit card when you're buying something. So the people calling in there are mostly shop assistants who are having problem with the devices. Sounds pretty good to me. And I'll be earning quite a bit more. Damn, I can't help getting a little happy in my pants now. ;)

I still made it to the hairdresser, too. And it was great. It's actually a school for people who want to become a hairdresser. This means they're up for any challenge and it's really cheap. Still, I only got my hair re-dyed and cut into shape again. I didn't want to risk anything before I tried it once. When my Mom paid for it, our jaws nearly hit the floor. She paid €49 for both of us. Usually, I pay that much and more for myself. I'm definitely going back there again. Ok, so it's always quite noisy and busy there and you have to bring your own towels but who cares?! Also, the job the girl did at my hair was the best ever. I'm definitely not going back to the horror that is my old hairdresser. The best thing was probably that they're still giving appointments. With the others, you have to be there at 9 in the morning and then maybe you're lucky and won't have to wait for an hour or more.

I just read The Ataris will have a new album out soon. Sweet. 2006 seems to become a really exciting year for us music addicts...


-



Previous - Next