Home Archives Profile Book Notes Mail Cast Misc Rings Host



Cold in life's throes

2005-10-14


I guess the last entry was one of the gloomiest I've ever written and I suppose anyone who reads it and doesn't know me thinks I'm a pretty sad and lonely person. Maybe it's the truth in that which makes me think it's one of the best entries so far. And I think after some 500+ entries I'm allowed to take a little look over my shoulder and make judgements like that. I did not regret writing it, by the way. In fact, I felt even worse the next morning and felt like writing even more but decided against it. Instead I stayed in bed and read something I shouldn't have read. I can't tell you what it was because that would be embarrassing and it's not of importance anyway. What's important is that because of the beauty and the sadness of it, I found myself crying like an idiot for ages. Which then led to me crying for myself and everything that's wrong in my life. I wanted to cry out of so many reasons and yet, I wouldn't be able what exactly it was that kept me in bed until the sun went down again, weeping and bawling and sobbing like a schoolgirl who only just got her heart crushed by her first love. It just wouldn't stop and when my Mom got home, I had to fight hard to hide it from her. Despite having those break-downs almost frequently now, I am still embarrassed because I know people always expect answers to their big "Why?" questions. And I know I'll never be able to provide them. Though I still find myself looking for reasons every now and then, too. It's easier than just accepting things the way they are.
But it's not entirely bad that I still hope to find a simple answer. Right now for example I'm after the one that has always been the most obvious: self-loathing and an undying hate for my own body. In this case, it actually led me to a gym. Yes, we really did it. We went there on Wednesday to check it out. We had some dude show us around and ended up signing a 1 year-contract. It might not sound like the smartest idea but in the end, something has to happen. And in order for me to lose as nuch weight as I'm hoping to lose, I'll have to visit the place regularly for way longer than a year. And I'm hoping that the pressure of having to pay some 20 € per month will finally be something that works. We're also planning to join courses there but we'll have to see first. I'm a bit nervous because we'll go there for the first actual workout tomorrow. I'm all set up with a huge bottle of Evian and freshly cleaned sweatpants. I hope I won't collapse after the first minute on the treadmill...

Another reason to feel filthy is that yesterday, for the first time in my entire life, I had to ask my Granpa for money. Sure, he's bought me a car (two, actually) and paid for lots of other things already but it was always a case of him offering and me accepting. I've never had to ask anyone for money and I really hope I won't ever have to do it again. I had to, though, or we would have had to cancel the vacation. There's still a chance that we might have to do so, though. I have another job interview on Monday and I'm pretty confident that I'll get it. The only thing is: they only pay 950 € in the first three months and afterwards, I'll get extra-money depending on how fast I work or whatever. The only reason I even agreed to go to the interview was that the guy told me they had call center AND back office jobs and didn't pull back when I told him I was definitely not gonna take a call center job. Well, that and the fact that even 950 € is more than 360 €. And more work will lead to less thinking.


AFI - Hard Rock Live Performance



Previous - Next