Home Archives Profile Book Notes Mail Cast Misc Rings Host



Friends and Foes

2006-04-04


Time for a quick update before bed because I need to just write down some things that are on my mind at the moment.

The situation at work is improving a lot now. On Wednesday, J. got fired. Apparently, there had been a lot of shit going on and it was to be expected. After that, D. moved to her desk because when we get a replacement for her, they'll need to sit near an experienced employee. Since I have B. and won't ever share him (heheee...), the new one will have to put up with D. The good news is that he's sitting miles away from me now and it's easy for me to ignore him.
Also, a "new" co-worker had her first day after four weeks of holidays on Monday. She's super-sweet. I can see myself get impatient with her sweetness already but for now it's fine. She's fun and all that and ever since she came back, D.'s a lot more bearable. I think he might have a crush on her because he seemed to cheer up and be less grumpy as soon as he saw her. Whatever, I don't care as long as he stops harrassing me...
Part of things getting so much better is probably also that I am pretty much able to work without asking for every little thing now. I can help customers without calling back several times and feeling all insecure. That makes things so much easier and gives me a better feeling at the end of the day. I was seriously contemplating quitting the job at some points, purely because I didn't think I'd ever be able to deal with all the difficult tasks and everything. But by now, things don't seem to be so hard anymore. I'm still not sure if I want this to be a long time thing but I am content for now and I don't think I'm in a position to look much further.
Last week, they also told me that they're now going to hire me fully, meaning without a temp agency in between. That's fantastic because I'll get more money and it won't be so easy for them to fire me anymore. I haven't really calculated around that much but I might be able to afford my own place some time next year. Good thing. I still haven't decided where I would like to move to, though. The easiest thing would be to just stay near home or work which is mostly the same. But I fear that if I make an effort to move out and don't take a far step with it, I will never make it out of this area after all. I mean, I don't need to leave the country or state just yet. But maybe I really should move to a bigger town around, even if that means having a longer way to work. Doesn't make sense if you use logic but in my mind, it seems so much better.

Anyway, the night out with Annette was fantastic. We went to see Brokeback Mountain which made me feel a little guilty since I know Maja wanted to watch that one with me. But there wasn't really so much of a choice. Originally, we had planned to see The Hills Have Eyes but that one wasn't starting for nearly 1.5 hours and the showroom where that one was showing was almost full already. And the only other movie we could agree on was Brokeback Mountain, which was starting a few minutes after we bought the tickets, so we went for that one. Probably a good choice because I had to drive around the whole state to get home later. All the roads seemed to be closed for roadworks and I found myself driving through really weird places I had never heard of before. I guess I would have been scared, had we gone for the horror movie...

Sunday night was also great. I finally got to see Serenity Gray live and they were really surprisingly awesome. I knew them from their CD Tanja had given me but I was really blown away by how amazing and professional they are live. It once again shows how many fairly unknown bands really deserve so much more. Most of the other bands playing kind of sucked, though. Some just weren't my cup of tea and some just plan blew. Hmpf.

That's about as much as I have to say for now, except:

and

YAAAAAAAAAAY, PLACEBO IN JUUUUNE!


Backyard Babies - Brand New Hate



Previous - Next